Don’t worry, Super Cold Killer is here!

Go straight to the recipe!

Worrying might be one of my most characteristic personality traits. Leo has been away most of last week for work. He left having a cold and he did bring it back (obviously). We usually talk a lot, and I don’t mean only the fact that we call each other every day, but we did.

Not surprisingly, I worried. He sounded very congested all the time and he has this annoyingly lovely way of sneezing that many times in a row that you wonder if he has time to breathe at all… and of course, I worried.

He worked hard and I knew that probably would be nice if I cooked something nice for the evening he got back.

Another of my big traits is that I tend to be quite neat. It is not obsessively neat, I just like to have an order, chop things nicely and take my time in the kitchen. You probably won’t see any time estimation when I cook and post a recipe, as, let’s be honest, I’m quite slow and wouldn’t be real if I reported the time it took for me.

However, I like to follow recipes, but truth is I don’t really follow them, I just get inspired. Blame (or thank) my mother, she doesn’t believe in following them and thinks that the best things that you can cook come from intuition, and I really, really like to be creative in the kitchen. Probably so much so, that sometimes I have to kill those creative impulses, you’ll see what I mean later on.

Anyway, another trait, I tend to talk too much about unrelated topics (beautifully shown over here). Straight to the point:

Leo had a cold, he was coming back and I thought it would be nice to have a proper dinner together, so I worried a lot about what to make to make him feel better.

My creativity said make something dry, (which I did anyway as a main) but I killed it momentarily to develop what I thought it would be a really comforting soup (that we had as a starter).

Leo loved it and said something that I really liked; It triggered some childhood memories 🙂

My inspiration: Leo loves garlic, chilli and coriander (among others), and ginger and any spicy food are good for the cold.

So here we go!

Recipe Summary

Spicy Soup
(Arge’s Special Cold Killer Soup)


Ingredients

  • 1 small ginger root
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 fresh chilli
  • 4 spring onions
  • Garlic (Leo loves it so we usually use quite a lots)
  • Fresh coriander
  • Vegetable stock cube/pot
  • Water
  • 4 small potatoes
  • Black Pepper

Method

  1. Chop the garlic as nicely small as you wish (amount to taste, and mash it first to release the flavour), ginger, chilli, spring onion, and the red onion. When you are almost finished put a pan with a little bit of olive oil on the hob.
  2. Add all the chopped vegetables and black pepper to the pot and stir them until you see them nicely gold/fried/cooked.
  3. Add chopped coriander to the mixture and mixed everything. Meanwhile boil water and peel and chop the potatoes.
  4. Add vegetable stock pot to the mixture, stir well and add the boiling water with the potatoes.
  5. Let it boil and in a few minutes you’ll have a nice soup ready to be eaten!
  6. ENJOY!
Leave a Reply

