How salty muffins saved the world?

Go straight to the recipe!

I can’t remember when I first thought about creating a salty muffin. I think I read about it somewhere or my crazy brain just dreamt it at some point.

The thing is that I have been wanting to make them for a while, and let’s be honest, it is such kind of weird side dish that it has been really hard to combine with any main.

However, I found the perfect occasion, or maybe I (forced) made it happen. These chilli muffins became the awesome side that saved some lonely kidney beans and coriander with black pepper sauce Veggie Burgers.

Over the million recipes that I could find on the Internet, maybe I shouldn’t have chosen Mr Jamie Oliver‘s one for inspiration after the Spanish paella drama… but wait! Dear Jamie, even if I did ignore most of your recommended steps to follow because I rule myself in the kitchen, I respect you, so I am going to give you full credit. Well, maybe only half, after all my Spanish pride needs to punish you somehow 🙂

At the end, I truly did some changes to his version.

As usual, I need to report what Leo said about this little experiment. I thought he was going to comment on the “faff” that the muffins were or how weird they look together with the burgers, but his thoughts tagged this side as a lovely companion for very nice burgers.

Also, they seemed to be the perfect treat when you want a nice chilli flavour but want to avoid the heat of the spice.

Recipe Summary

Chilli Muffins

(with Cheese and Sweet Potato)


Ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 fresh red chillies
  • 4 free-range eggs
  • 3 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • cheddar cheese
  • sunflower seeds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • black pepper
  • salt

(That will create 12 muffins, but I guess it depends on how big you want them)

Method

  1. Grate the sweet potato and boil it a little bit to make it tender. Meanwhile, chop the chillies and get everything ready.
  2. Mix the eggs with cottage cheese and flour, add the chillies and sweet potato and the cheddar cheese (to taste, or my advice, lots of it, there is never enough). Mix it until it is homogeneous.
  3. Preheat the oven. Jamie says 180°/350°/gas 4, but trust me, nobody knows your oven better than yourself. I used gas 7 with mine during all the process and the result was perfect. Prepare the muffin tin with paper cases and pour the mixture in them.
  4. Sprinkle the top of the muffins with your favourite toppings. I used either pumpkin or sunflower seeds and (obviously) more cheese.
  5. Bake them in the lowest part of your oven for about 45 minutes or until they are golden. Again, the best cooking comes from your intuition.
  6. EAT THEM. They are delicious!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

