How did the cow learn to be a plant?

Go straight to the recipe!

One of the best things about Leo being a vegetarian is that I am getting more adventurous and creative in the kitchen.

I simply love to do that and I am actually learning a lot from him. I am not a vegetarian, I am a meat eater, or maybe I was, I don’t know!

I used to cook a lot with meat, you know, the basic chicken (or beef/lamb) with rice pasta or whatever. Leo and I cook together almost everyday, so no more meat for me, but truth is that I am not missing it at all, I think I don’t need/want it anymore (all the time) and to be honest most of the days that I am alone I don’t cook with meat either. SURPRISINGLY!

Anyway, that new discovery allowed me to want to be more fancy and creative when i cook, and I am enjoying it SO MUCH.

One of the things that I’ve been wanting to cook for a while are Veggie Burgers, and I did!

I based my “invention” on a Spanish cooking blog that I sometimes check (Directo al Paladar), but as you know, I usually don’t follow word by word recipes and like to add my touch based on my intuition.

The burgers were served with a homemade black pepper sauce and chilli muffins.

On the anecdotes section, Leo described them as “They look like beef” burgers, so mischief managed.

Recipe Summary

Veggie Burgers


Ingredients

  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1/2 Sweet Potato
  • 100g quinoa
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce (that makes it look as if it is beef)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • oregano
  • thyme
  • fresh coriander
  • Herbes de Provence
  • ground almond
  • cheddar cheese

(for the Black pepper sauce)

  • 1tbsp olive oil
  • black pepper whole corns (to taste)
  • milk
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • salt
  • corn flour

Method

  1. Grate the sweet potato and boil it until it is tender. Boil the quinoa separately.
  2. Add all the ingredients, the quinoa and sweet potato with the herbs, fresh coriander and spices to a food processor. Pulse until everything is smoothly blended and homogeneous.
  3. Shape your burgers and fry them in a lightly oiled pan.

(for the sauce)

  1. Add oil to a pan, and add the whole pepper corns when the oil is heated.
  2. Add milk, freshly grounded black pepper (to taste) and a pinch of salt when the corns start cracking.
  3. Stir until it boils. Mix a table spoon of corn flour with some room temperature milk until it is diluted and add it to the pan.
  4. Stir until the sauce has acquired the desired texture.

READY TO GO

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

