If you can’t beat them, SNACK them!

Go straight to the recipe!

In Spain the most common chickpeas that you can find are dry, or let’s say it is the most traditional way to find them, but modern lifestyles have already introduced the ready to go cans and jars.

Anyway, the thing is that when I moved to the UK  I took some dry chickpeas 1kg bags with me and my parents took some more with them when they visited me last summer.

The problem: I had too many and unused. I wasn’t worried about them getting bad, they are dry! But I did feel horrible about having them stored for so long. The main issue with this format of chickpeas is that you have to put them in water the day before, so unless you have a meal plan for the week (which we learnt to do and will encourage in this blog in further Featured posts) it is very hard to get it done (damn it laziness!).

My flatmate Moujan came back home one day with a packet of roasted chickpeas and that gave me the idea to find inspiration online and see if I could do that delicious snack with what I had.

And YES!  Roasted Chickpeas happen to be a very creative dress-how-you like snack and who doesn’t like a good healthy nibble 🙂

dsc06578

Recipe Summary

Chickpeas Snack


Ingredients

  • Chickpeas (as many as you want)
  • 1/2 lemon or lime
  • Spicy Spanish paprika powder (Pimentón picante)
  • Garlic powder
  • Curry powder

Method

1. (Based on the product you are using). Leave the dry chickpeas soaked in water during the previous night.

dsc06561

2. Preheat the oven, around 200°.

3. Pour the chickpeas in a bowl and add the lemon or lime juice (I used lime), add all the paprika, garlic and curry powder to taste and mix until everything is homogeneous.

4. Spread the chick peas in a tray with baking paper.

dsc06562

5.Put them in the oven for about 1 hour.

6. Let them cool down.

7. ENJOY!

dsc06581

Leave a Reply

