The quick-recipes Social ERA!

on

Go straight to the recipe!

Sometimes those social network sites made us angry, but I think Instagram (IG) is one of my favourites. I like photography and it gives me the opportunity to check different visual stories within seconds.

Since we started this blog, I’ve spent extra time on IG looking for inspiration, following profiles like Tastemade, BuzzFeedTasty and similar. To be honest I think they’ve turned into a new and different way to report recipes and ideas.

In just a few seconds you have a very short clip, no more than 1 minute (I risk to say) in which they show you quickly the result and a summary of the method to follow to achieve it. In comparison to other more conventional recipe channels like longer videos with explanations on Youtube or our Blog (blogging in general), it shows very FANCY food and it looks very easy to make (?). But, is it?

I got obsessed with this Tornado Potatoes recipe by BuzzFeedTasty. I really wanted to made them. They seemed simple, so I had to give it a try.

The results was very nice, it looked gorgeously tasty and the seasoning was delicious, but it was quite “faffy” to make and just by following the short video instructions we did not get the correct texture. However, they were great!

I think our problem was time (and hunger). Even if we followed the recommended time, we had to use more and at the end we were left with the feeling that those potatoes could have lived in the oven a little bit longer.

I guess that is the problem when you follow a recipe in a short video.

You have to watch it at least 5 times to understand the method (in this, how to cut the potatoes was quite a struggle for me) and the timing did not work well (at least for us).

Yes, I know, every single recipe like that one have a description and a link leading you to a written version, but still, I go to IG for quick visuals and Twitter for quick text. I am not being hard on the format, I admit that I enjoy in and love it. It is very useful.

Meanwhile, I think I will keep going with the Blog format though 🙂

Here I facilitate their recipe, with what I think would be the improvements that we needed.

dsc06602

Recipe Summary

Tornado Potatoes


Ingredients

  • Potatoes (as many as you want, we bought them Big and for baking, but I think that doesn’t really matter)
  • Melted butter
  • Grated Parmesan cheese (There is never enough!)

and your favourite seasoning mixture:

  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp Spanish paprika (“Pimentón”)

and my touch of

  • Herbes de Provence
  • Oregano

Method

You can follow this video for a visual demonstration:

My quick instructions including some advice:

  1. Preheat the oven at around 160ºC.
  2. Use a skewer to help you while cutting the potatoes in the Tornado “shape”, the video will help you see how you have to do it. Yes, it takes time.
  3. Brush your potatoes with the melted butter (the more the merrier).
  4. Create your favourite combination of herbs and spices
  5. Dress the potato with your seasoning
  6. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 h depending on the size of your potato (original recipe says 25-30 minutes). I would recommend you to set the oven to a higher temperature and that might help you reduce the time, but there are quite a few parameters to consider. The result should be a browned potato.
  7. ENJOY!
Leave a Reply

